About Us


Our Police Officers are on duty 24 hours a day, seven days a week, 365 days a year. Currently there are 32 full-time sworn police officers and four full-time civilian support staff.  The department provides police services for both Newtown Township and Wrightstown Township.

Chief John L. Hearn is the head of the police department and the Operations Lieutenant Jason A. Harris is in charge of patrol and investigative personnel. 

Our department is organized into a Patrol Division and a Criminal Investigations Division. There are several specialty units within the Patrol Division including, Motorcycles, Honor Guard, Truck Enforcement Unit and members of the M.I.R.T. and S.E.R.T. team.

The department has been accredited by the Pennsylvania Chiefs of Police Association since 2013.