Newtown Township Police Retains Accreditation Status

In Pennsylvania there are 1,117 law enforcement agencies and Newtown Township Police Department is one of the 117 agencies that have attained accredited status. The Department initially attained the accreditation status in May of 2013.  The program requires that an accredited agency undergo the re-accreditation process every three years. Newtown’s re-assessment took place in May of this year.  The department received high praise for their policies, procedures, overall leadership and teamwork, and the phrase, “best of the best,” was mentioned by the assessment team. After the assessment reports were presented to the Pennsylvania Law Enforcement Commission for their review the commission unanimously approved the recommendation that Newtown Township Police Department retain their accreditation status.

On Thursday, August 22, 2019, Newtown Township Police Department received a visit from members of the Pennsylvania Law Enforcement Commission, Chairman James Adams and Coordinator Richard Hammond, who presented Chief John L. Hearn with the Department’s certificate.  Chief Hearn is proud of the entire police department and everyone’s positive participation in the process and gave a special acknowledgement to Sergeant Robert Lupinetti, for his strong work ethic as Accreditation Manager.   

Some of the benefits of an accredited police department are:

• Establishes a credible framework for evaluating agency practices and procedures

• Reduces agency risk and exposure to lawsuits 

• Increases employee input, interaction and confidence in the agency 

• Improves law enforcement and community relations

• Extends agency accountability to the public and elected officials

• Encourages problem-solving activities within the agency 

• Furnishes a solid foundation for the agency to build upon for further progress  

Photo 1:  left to right

Pennsylvania Law Enforcement Commission Chairman James Adams, Chief John L. Hearn and Pennsylvania Law Enforcement Commission Coordinator Richard Hammond.

Photo 2: left to right: 

Commission Chairman James Adams, Lieutenant Jason A. Harris, Accreditation Manager Sergeant Robert Lupinetti, Chief John L. Hearn Commission Coordinator Richard Hammond and Executive Assistant Jean Tanner.